Good.

My Grammar can be graded, at best … “adequate.”  I have only had my blog up two days.  Two of my most trusted grammatically correct friends have already repaired my babble, six or seven times.  God bless you angels of the written word.  So I fumble through my commas, and debate, Oxford comma, or no?  And my daughter texts me and says, “Mom, it’s just a comma!  You do not need to put one every time you breathe!”  Fair enough, she is actually in Oxford, so she should know.  Grammar is not what I adore about this craft.  You might guffaw at such a ridiculous statement from a “writer.” But I am a writer in long term romance with the adjective.

I love to decorate.  My style is eclectic.  If I fall in love with a whimsical red floral pattern then, of course, nothing accents it better than a classic, porcelain blue & white, china patterned, throw-pillow. I will not argue with you.  I have the same adoration for decorating or “dressing up” the written word.  My home school and Classical Education friends will know what I mean by that.  The trusted works of IEW, The Institute for Excellence in Writing, has its own writing lingo.

Use a dress up.

Add a VSS (very short sentence.)

And, my favorite, “use a quality adjective”.

IEW also has “banned words”.  You replace the “banned words” with “quality words.”  The word “good” is banned.  If you look “good” up in your trusty, “Webster’s Thesaurus of the English Language,”  these are your options: decent, respectable, moral, upright, virtuous, noble, worthy, blameless, wholesome, suitable, helpful, beneficial, sound, safe, advantageous, reliable, trustworthy, useful, well-behaved, well-mannered, polite, obedient, courteous, effective, useful, valuable, right, first-rate, superior, fine, fantastic, excellent, pleasant….  I could go on, but I want you to keep reading my blog.  With this glorious assortment of adjectives, or as I like to call them “the throw pillows of the noun,” why on earth would you ever use the word “good?”

The lasagna was good.

The lasagna was fantastic!

So, although I took the eclectic route, my point is, why is today simply called Good Friday?  The greatest story ever told is… good?  I have considered other options.  Noble Friday, Blameless Friday, Effective Friday, Superior Friday…. Again, I could go on, you get the gist.  It is simply called “Good Friday.” And it is a terrifying story; the horrific death, of an innocent man, for the sins of many.  That doesn’t sound good.  And yet, it is.  It is a story of being restored, perfect love, miracles, hope, eternal life, the love of The Father, and the summation of “The Good News.”  He is good.  Jesus Christ died for us that we could have a good life and spend eternity with Him.  I see no need for a “quality” adjective here.  An adjective has no greater quality than to accurately and effectively describe a noun.  Today is the Friday my Jesus died for me.  And it is good.

“…but the Word of the Lord remains forever. And this Word is the Good News that was taught to you.”  1 Peter 1:25  

Curious?  Check out IEW at http://iew.com/

About jamiamerine

I am a wife, mom, & seeker of joy! I love to share funny and inspirational tales with my fellow moms. I fully believe that God intended laughter to be a form of rest and worship. I have a few kids. I have a few years on me. I have a great husband. And I love to laugh. I studied home economics in college, I can cook just about anything, but do not ask me to sew. In my graduate work I studied education and human development, I consider my life continuing education, my children are my ongoing thesis. If they survive that, I will let you know! I write non-fiction for laughter, respite, and inspiration. I also am in the process of submitting my first fiction mystery and have two more in the works! Mom life is hard work. My prayer for my readers is that, even if it you just have five minutes, you can be inspired and encouraged today. Keep it short and sweet... rest in Jesus girlfriend.
This entry was posted in homeschool, jesus, writing, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good.

  1. Don McKelvie says:

    That was amazing. I’m one of your most loyal followers.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. Angela Martin says:

    I’m here, reading, and I’ll be here reading:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glenna McKelvie says:

    I love your adjectives, (comma) Jami, but I will go
    With Holy Friday– love, Mom

    Like

  4. The Garners says:

    Love this colorful perspective: adjectives as “the throw pillows of the noun.” 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

