Comfort Food

After months of suffering I have had extensive allergy testing.

Maybe I needed to hear it from a professional.  I knew wheat made me sick.  Sick, ha, unable to breathe. But now I have it in writing.  I am allergic to wheat.  Also:  garlic, strawberries, mangoes, cashews, almonds, milk, grapes, tea, Lima beans, sesame, soy, cola, the list goes on.  And on.

And I don’t want this.  I want things to be easier.  If you are allergic to garlic – uh, what the heck will you ever eat?  I am baffled by this diagnosis.  And I am at a conference so I am sure my body won’t mind if I just finish what I started and I will eat safer when I get home.

So here I am in my room – missing the lively vibe that is the American Christian Fictions Writers conference.  Maybe a third Benadryl will save me from myself.  It was “One last roll, and one last strawberry… one last glass of iced tea’ that brought me to this sickly state.

Or maybe there was garlic on the steak.  Who am I kidding, there was garlic on the steak.

And I certainly could throw myself a pity party, but this is self inflicted.  And greater suffering is all around me.  My parents and my brother are at the funeral of dear friends who died in a plane crash.  My sweet friend Jenny buried her daddy yesterday.  Cat scans, pet scans, biopsies, criminal trials, counseling sessions, divorce papers…  sad hard times abound.  And we want to be comforted.  When I have wanted to be comforted I am sure something with gluten, garlic, cheese, and more gluten have been a go to for me.  No more.

bread

It occurs to me I will miss these things – a lot.  I am convicted that I will miss these things.  Worldly satisfactions in lieu of seeking comfort from the One True Comforter are a first world problem.  Americans are afflicted by comfort. We are burdened with heaping bowls of macaroni and cheese or mashed potatoes, yeast rolls, and bowls of chicken and dumplings.  We are stuffed with comfort to the point we needn’t seek it from the One who eagerly waits to fill us.

e6r7lfnlxjz4p71kb0mo

I am guilty of instilling this in my  children and I pray today is not only the last yeast roll. I pray today marks the day I stop offering my children worldly comforts instead of Godly comforts – a cookie or sucker is replaced by a healing Word.

Today at a writing conference I am rewriting comfort and joyfully resting in His presence.  And it is well…

“It is written, man does not live on bread alone…” Luke 4:4

About jamiamerine

I am a wife, mom, & seeker of joy! I love to share funny and inspirational tales with my fellow moms. I fully believe that God intended laughter to be a form of rest and worship. I have a few kids. I have a few years on me. I have a great husband. And I love to laugh. I studied home economics in college, I can cook just about anything, but do not ask me to sew. In my graduate work I studied education and human development, I consider my life continuing education, my children are my ongoing thesis. If they survive that, I will let you know! I write non-fiction for laughter, respite, and inspiration. I also am in the process of submitting my first fiction mystery and have two more in the works! Mom life is hard work. My prayer for my readers is that, even if it you just have five minutes, you can be inspired and encouraged today. Keep it short and sweet... rest in Jesus girlfriend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Comfort Food

  1. McKelvie, Donald M says:

    Well done.

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  2. Teresa says:

    So sorry for you! But glad you now know why you’re getting sick:/ And sorry for gifting you with some of the nasty culprits!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  3. selah says:

    My husband and I have been gluten free for almost two years.. it does take getting used to, I still miss sourdough bread, but there are good alternatives.. you just have to be careful because some things that say “gluten free” contain other things that are just as bad.. There is a cook book called Artisanal Gluten Free that has a very good gluten-free flour mix and I would highly recommend it. You cannot tell the pancakes, for example, from those made with wheat flour.

    and I am sorry for the terrible times your friends have endured..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Andrea Young says:

    I happened upon your blog today after reading your Target post on the baby pool bit…hilarious–my side hurt. Came across this post and just have to share. You may have already tried this but there’s an amazing holistic doc who is a believer and so gifted here in Georgia. After we adopted our son from Ethiopia–he was diagnosed with severe asthma and LOTS of allergies. I had also lived a lifetime with lots of food and environmental allergies so I knew I could rock it just fine for him. Someone asked me if I’d ever heard of Dr.Anderson and I decided it didn’t hurt to take our son just to see if he could help maybe a bit. After seeing him, Dr.A said he didn’t have allergies or asthma but parasites and toxins…and in 2 weeks he was clear…like our doctors were jaw dropped he no longer needed breathing treatments. I decided to go too–and found out the root cause of my crazy (parasites, heavy metals, and many other fabulous;) things)…and I no longer have gluten, dairy or even environmental allergies. Growing up I couldn’t have a cat or dog…just a gold fish–fun right;)?! After complete healing–we bought a farm and have lots of animals!! Just know that whatever is going on…there’s always hope and healing…your body was fearfully and wonderfully made!! I know what it’s like to have a long list of foods you can’t eat and to have to make 2 appointments a week for shots just so you can breath…so if things don’t get better–I’m happy to share his contact info with you. I never comment on people’s blogs or even have time to read them…but I just happened to read this on a break while waiting for the bookstore to open and just had to share!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

