31 Days of stuff I wish you’d stop saying: Day 17 NETFLIX “are you still watching…”

Dear Netflix,

I originally was going to post an open letter to you about how much I hate when you stop my show and ask me, “Are you still watching this?” To be honest, I found it condescending.  I am an adult.  I’ll decide when I have mindlessly watched The Office for long enough.  I don’t need you to ask me, “Are you really still sitting there?  Are you trapped under something?  You know you have Cheetos in your hair?  Why don’t you get up and walk around? Maybe shower? Some deodorant? Get out of your pajamas?  See if the kids are okay???”

I realize this might not be your intended tone, but it feels that way. It feels like you are judging me.  I don’t need this from you.  I pay $12.00 a month for mindless, commercial free t.v. watching.  Basically, you work for me. So, when I started this series, that was one of my topics: “Dear Netflix, stop asking me if I am still watching…”  But, now I must change topics because I can no longer balk at this built in Netflix feature.

You see, dearest Netflix, this feature saved my life this week.  The babies were asleep and the bigs were at school.  I flopped onto the couch to work on my book and 90 minutes later this message came up on the screen,  “Are you still watching this?”
Dazed and confused I looked at my phone and was able to pull myself from a heavy trance.  I had lost an hour and a half of my day –

Watching Thomas  the Train.

thomas the train

Honestly, if not for your condescending warning, I feel certain I would have started drooling and been unable to recover thousands of dollars worth of advanced academic learning.  So, I applaud you and I encourage you: KEEP ASKING.  You are a marvelous first-world empire.  I hold you in the highest esteem. I apologize for any snarkiness. You obviously understand the gravity of mindless television watching.  There has to be a voice of reason in the world of instant downloads.  Bravo Netflix, Bravo.

Love, Jami

As a door turns on its hinges, so does a sluggard on his bed.  Proverbs 26:14

Did you miss some #31 Day wisdom?  Click here to get caught up!  And have a great weekend!  May your floors be sticky and your calling ordained!

About jamiamerine

I am a wife, mom, & seeker of joy! I love to share funny and inspirational tales with my fellow moms. I fully believe that God intended laughter to be a form of rest and worship. I have a few kids. I have a few years on me. I have a great husband. And I love to laugh. I studied home economics in college, I can cook just about anything, but do not ask me to sew. In my graduate work I studied education and human development, I consider my life continuing education, my children are my ongoing thesis. If they survive that, I will let you know! I write non-fiction for laughter, respite, and inspiration. I also am in the process of submitting my first fiction mystery and have two more in the works! Mom life is hard work. My prayer for my readers is that, even if it you just have five minutes, you can be inspired and encouraged today. Keep it short and sweet... rest in Jesus girlfriend.
This entry was posted in #31days, #mommylife, #netflix and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 31 Days of stuff I wish you’d stop saying: Day 17 NETFLIX “are you still watching…”

  1. Melissa says:

    Lol! 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Keri says:

    Hahaha! I sort of hate that they added this feature. As I have it running at night while I am….whatever…folding laundry, paying bills online, writing a blog, etc, I then have to find and wake up the xbox remote and hit yes. However, as you said it’s a good reminder to shut it down as well so I have used it wisely and thought, “Nope. I’m going to bed now.”
    Bless you and your humor. You are using your God given talents wisely to lift others up and spread God’s love and His heart in ways that will reach far and wide. I am so glad I have found your blog and I look forward to whatever God has called you to write.

    Like

Leave a Reply

