Dear 999,999 moms.com,

I am a conservative Christian mom of 6.  My oldest is 20.  My youngest is 1.  I am a biological mom. I am an adoptive mom.  I am a foster mom.   My family is mutli-cultural.  I have home schooled.  I have unschooled.  I have tried public school.  I have tried private.  I love my husband.  I vote pro-life and pro-family.  I give 10%.  I read Dobson. I have a three car garage and a swimming pool. I can’t afford health insurance for my family. I try not to cuss, sometimes I do. I know the pledge of allegiance, and I can name all 50 states.  I know the ten commandments.  I make a killer apple pie.  I have signed your petitions.

This is where I get off your bandwagon.

For the last few months of what has been a very short career, one that could end here, I have written snarky posts that ticked people off or made them laugh.  The people that have gotten mad at me say I am judgmental of chubby kindergarteners at dance recitals. Ironically, yesterday my site hit 1,000,000 views. And I may experience an exodus of my conservative readers. But I have been convicted of this: American’s are entitled and self-absorbed to the point of utter psychosis.

Americanized Jesus… heaven help us.  One million of you are fighting a first world problem and making a fool of us all.  This is the hill you’ve chosen to die on?  A company that makes dolls; vinyl, synthetic DOLLS and sells them for what is considered a week’s wages for an entire family in The Congo, has offended you with a campaign.  A campaign about two men who adopted FOUR children out of the foster care system offends your sense of right and wrong. The campaign features a letter from a real live American girl who carries her meager belongings from foster home to foster home in a trash bag.

IMG_3145-0

We have officially lost our ever loving minds.

I have been to American Girl Doll. I have bought their products. I have paid $12.99 for a grilled cheese sandwich cut into the shape of the star while my daughter’s doll got a $25 spa treatment.  And although it was a fun day, I hope I have to answer for this somehow.

America Christians, we are ridiculous.

The starving, the broken, the dying, the orphaned, the refugee, the sick, the suffering – I am pretty sure Real Jesus was most concerned with the least of these.  If I have a dollar to give, and I have to face my God today, let it be said of me that I used that dollar to buy a box of graham crackers from a company that has a homosexual family in their television commercials, and I gave the box to a family in need.

We were promised very little by Jesus. He told us to love.  The Gospel is love.  We are so busy and caught up in our White Wonder Bread we have forgotten the true message of the Gospel. The list of offenses toward a conglomerate like American Girl Dolls is hardly this promotion.

If you sat down, in your memory foam chair to type your name in a little box on your computer to promote conservative values, in your air conditioned home, while a pot roast simmered in your “made in China” crockpot, and your laundry just finished spinning in your EF high-end washer, and your 2.5 children saw a commercial for Sponge Bob on Cartoon Network where Sponge Bob marries another male sponge… my heart does not break for you.

Just turn off the freaking t.v.

Let’s all turn off our televisions.  Let’s all have a big ole’ garage sale, sell our belongings, and follow Jesus!  Let’s go! One million of us!  Come on!  Let’s all go sign up to adopt HUMAN BEINGS out of the foster care system!  No matter their race, color, or background!  Let’s do it!

No?

Well, I understand.

You have that pot roast cooking and all. And there is a birthday party this weekend at American Girl Doll, and the dance recital… And Jesus is not calling you to adopt.  He’s called you to sign petitions to stop commercials that offend you when you are sitting in your lay-z-boy eating pie.  But your iPhone is right there, so if a commercial comes on to give a nickel or a rat’s ass about the suffering in Africa you’ll make sure and hook that up to your Paypal account.

Check automated monthly draft.

Check email me with updates on my nickel at work.

Share my generous giving on Facebook.

Get more pie.

Whew!  Thank goodness.  Your work here is done.

Well done faithful servant, well done.

Read campaign here:  American girl and onemillionmoms

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment.39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” Matthew 22:37-40

About jamiamerine

I am a wife, mom, & seeker of joy! I love to share funny and inspirational tales with my fellow moms. I fully believe that God intended laughter to be a form of rest and worship. I have a few kids. I have a few years on me. I have a great husband. And I love to laugh. I studied home economics in college, I can cook just about anything, but do not ask me to sew. In my graduate work I studied education and human development, I consider my life continuing education, my children are my ongoing thesis. If they survive that, I will let you know! I write non-fiction for laughter, respite, and inspiration. I also am in the process of submitting my first fiction mystery and have two more in the works! Mom life is hard work. My prayer for my readers is that, even if it you just have five minutes, you can be inspired and encouraged today. Keep it short and sweet... rest in Jesus girlfriend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Dear 999,999 moms.com,

  1. Martha Finley Curt says:

    “Don’t judge others because they sin differently than you.” I don’t know who said this,but it seems to go well with your message.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Robin says:

    Love this! I understand where OMM is coming from, however, you can’t expect non-christians to follow christian values!! And let’s face it, this country is getting farther and farther away from conservative Christian values every day. I’m not saying its wrong to fight for what we believe in but I think true change comes through our personal relationships.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Katie says:

    Your blog has been a breath of fresh air since I found it not so long ago. I have finally found a kindred spirit in this crazy world of American Christianity. I was taught that we are to show them that we’re Christians by our love. We will never show anyone the way to Jesus through our unyielding judgements. Thank you for using your talent to say what so desperately needs to be said! You may lose a few conservative readers, but maybe, just maybe, you have given a few the words they needed to pause and think about what we’re doing as a church and how that relates to what Jesus did. (Those he treated harshly were not the sinners, they were the religious hypocrites.) If you move just a few to think in terms of love rather than hate and anger that is, I believe, the greater good!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Cherie Bell says:

    Love this blog. Love you, too…in a heterosexual way, of course 😉

    Rock ON!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Farmer Josh says:

    I have been “trolling” since you and I met, reading what to me are simply “calls to action” to Americanized Christians (I know many from other countries read as well) and I must say I truly enjoy reading what you write. I am not sure if there is a filter between your thoughts and typingg it and uploading it and I like that:)
    I ask The Father to guide me to like minded people and He nailed it with allowing me to be a part of you and your families lives. I hope and pray one day I will be courageous enough to put what and how I feel about my passions out there for the world to see. Thank You for leading by example.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love you! My like minded, yet never officially met, friend.

    Like

  7. Chrissy Smith says:

    PRAISE GOD! Thank you for your good sense and for voicing this out loud. I’m sticking with you. I can’t keep up with all the boycotts anyway.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Lois says:

    I have been reading your blog for a month, and I love that you speak your truth. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Bethany says:

    Preach! So good.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Paula says:

    I only recently found your blog and wasn’t sure how eye to eye we would be on things. I think we are going to get along just fine.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Paula says:

    I only recently found your blog and I wasn’t sure how eye to eye we would be on things. I think we will get along just fine.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Joanne says:

    AMEN!! Love that you tell it like it is. Christians are often “religious” more than Christian!

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Dear American Christians: You’re Fighting First-World Problems and Making Fools of Us All - For Every Mom

  14. Linda Pell says:

    Well daid. Thank you for being a voice of reason.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Please delete is its not ok… I think we may share a brain. I struggle a lot with my “crowd”. The latest is my HUGE issue with Orphan Sunday. I just literally thanked God it was over. Ugh. https://growingupgambills.wordpress.com/2014/11/29/the-thing-that-is-wrong-with-orphan-rescue/

    Liked by 1 person

    • carriemcq says:

      I understand. We have adopteds, bios, and fosters. I fully support the outreach and attention that Orphan Sunday generates, but I don’t involve my kids. I don’t wear “orphan” or “rescue” T-shirts in front of them, and certainly don’t make the kids wear them. From your post, it just occurred to me that I’d be so much happier with “Adoption Sunday” or “Foster Sunday.”

      As for Christian priorities, I’ve always said that AFTER all kids are in loving families, THEN we can argue about which type of family is best (bio, adoptive, domestic, international, foster, homosexual, traditional, sibling, grandparent, etc.). I pray we live long enough to see that day. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  16. carriemcq says:

    I understand. We have adopteds, bios, and fosters. I fully support the outreach and attention that Orphan Sunday generates, but I don’t involve my kids. I don’t wear “orphan” or “rescue” T-shirts in front of them, and certainly don’t make the kids wear them. From your post, it just occurred to me that I’d be so much happier with “Adoption Sunday” or “Foster Sunday.”

    As for Christian priorities, I’ve always said that AFTER all kids are in loving families, THEN we can argue about which type of family is best (bio, adoptive, domestic, international, foster, homosexual, traditional, sibling, grandparent, etc.). I pray we live long enough to see that day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Eric says:

    Great post.. nothing more need be said

    Liked by 1 person

  18. LOVE IT GIRL!!! I have to say even in some of our past Homeschool groups we never really felt like we fit in for EXACTLY the scenario you painted thru your words. I feel we would get along just fine! 😉 Its actually quite embarrassing to a certain group of conservative American Christians when others do things like this. It doesn’t make us look good, and most importantly it doesn’t make God look good… Why would anyone want to be a part of that?! Love this and can’t wait to hear more of your work! God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Great post. Do something rather than constantly judge. Help those that are truly suffering rather than sit back and write a check. Teach our kids that we as one may not be able to change the world, but we can change the world for one.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Lisa says:

    Nailed it! 👍🏻😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

